Architectural complex Three brothers in Riga.
Architectural complex Three brothers – the oldest complex of residential buildings located in Old Riga on the street Maza Pils (Malaya Zamkovaya). These three houses have been preserved since the 15th century. Today they house the Museum of Architecture and the National Center for the Protection of Cultural Monuments.
According to legend, three houses, closely nestled to each other, were really built by men belonging to the same genus. In the Middle Ages, the street on which the houses are located, was on the outskirts of the city. There lived artisans. In the house number 17, the oldest of the “brothers”, was a craft workshop. It is assumed that the building of the “oldest brother” was built in 1490. The house has an ascetic architecture, the only decoration of the building are 2 stone pillars located in front of the entrance. In this house there was only 1 room, which was used both as a workshop and as a bench, as well as a place where people live. Until now, preserved stone benches, located on both sides of the door of the building, which are characteristic features of the early Middle Ages.
House number 19, which is an average “brother”, is the most luxurious building, in terms of architecture, among the three brothers. The entrance of the average “brother” is decorated with the inscription “Soli deo gloria!”. Unlike the eldest “brother”, this house had a separate spacious hall with large windows, while the living quarters were located on the side of the courtyard.
The youngest “brother” was built in the second half of the 17th century. In this house, on each floor there were small apartments. The facade of the building is decorated with a mask. Which, according to the author’s intention, was to protect the house from evil spirits.
In the period from 1955 to 1957, the restoration of the “three brothers” was carried out. The work was carried out according to the project of Peteris Saulitis, with the help of G. Janson. The stone portal, delivered from the lost House of the Blackheads, as well as the forged coat of arms, with the date of 1554, was embedded in the walls.